Steering Wheel Restoration Tips

A place to put all your tips for restoring karts.
Timothy Field
BHKC Member
BHKC Membership no.: 0

Steering Wheel Restoration Tips

Post by Timothy Field »

I thought it might be worth adding the steering wheel restoration I’ve just completed for my Redhill Rapide project.

This is a project that’s taken a fair amount of time to complete as the wheel was not in a good state to begin with and also I’ve never done a steering wheel restoration before so their has been a lot of trial and error and rework along the way.

As the wheel rim rubber was somewhat damaged I’ve used silicone sealant to fill the undulations and cavities. To spread this I found the best way was to make a spreader out of stiff cardboard which followed the same cross-sectional diameter of the wheel.

The type of leather I’ve chosen for this project was Goat Skin (Napa Leather) and I chose a medium weight of around 0.9mm thickness. Although in hindsight I think slightly thicker might be better to control the pull on the leather when stitching.

One of the first problems encountered was the uneven surface of this particular wheel where it had degraded. Even though I had filled the rim it was still showing though the leather. So what I have done is put a layer of scrim between the leather and the wheel to act as padding. Scrim is the soft airy foam used on car door panels etc. The thickness of the scrim chosen was 3mm. I also found that stretching the scrim when attaching it to the rim helped and I used a band of carpet tape around the wheel at the start and finish of the scrim to hold it in place. The reason for stretching the scrim was to make it less floppy on the internal diameter of the wheel otherwise it creases up under the leather. I also made sure it didn’t overlap on the internal circumference. I found that putting cable ties on around the scrim helped keep it in place and also when it came to putting the leather over it helped this slide in place.